Tyler Surveyor Elected to Leadership Role with Texas Society of Professional Surveyors

Shane Neally, of Bullard, Texas, was sworn in as President of the Texas Society of Professional Surveyors (TSPS) at the annual convention Oct.30-Nov.2, 2013 in Arlington, Texas. Shane is a Registered Professional Land Surveyor and Partner and Vice-President of Stanger Surveying Tyler, LLC. He has 23 years or experience in surveying, more than 21 of those at Stanger, performing boundary, topographic, route, and oil and gas surveying.

Neally has served TSPS, both on a local and state level, in the positions of Director, Vice-President, President-Elect and Chairman of the Chapter Activities Committee and as the local Chapter 4 President and current Chapter 4 Secretary-Treasurer. Shane was awarded the TSPS Chapter President of the Year award in 2004 and the Young Surveyor of the Year award in 2010.

The Texas Society of Professional Surveyors (TSPS) is a professional organization for land surveyors, with a membership of nearly 1,700 registered surveyors, surveyors-in-training, students and associates from across Texas and surrounding states. It is one of the largest organizations of land surveyors in the United States and is recognized as a vanguard in professional surveying advancements and achievements.

The Texas Society of Professional Surveyors was established to aid and contribute to the education of its members and the general public in attaining high surveying standards, both technical and ethical.

The 2013 TSPS Convention & Tech Expo was attended by more than 700 participants. Other officers installed at the convention were: Jim Gillis (Midland), President-Elect; Paul Carey (Castroville), Vice President; and Al Hargraves (Kerrville), Secretary-Treasurer. State Directors elected to three-year terms were: John Barnard (Austin); Don King (Brownwood); David Klotz (Buda); and Richard Worthey (Beaumont).