American Public Works Association Announces 2011-12 President Diane Linderman

New and Re-elected Board Members Named

Kansas City, MO. –The American Public Works Association (APWA) announced today its 2011-2012 President is Diane M. Linderman, P.E., PWLF, Director of Urban Infrastructure and Development Services at Vanasse Hangen Brustlin, Inc. (VHB). She was officially welcomed at the recent APWA 2011 International Public Works Congress & Exposition held in Denver, Colorado. After serving the past year as president-elect, Linderman will serve as APWA president for a one year term. Linderman will lead the organization, which provides professional development and educational services, and promotes increased investment in public works infrastructure and sustainable systems. For the coming year, APWA’s key issues include building livable communities for the future, professional development and education services for all members, advocating for infrastructure investment, sustainability, international relations, emergency management and leadership.

Linderman is joined on the Board of Directors by APWA President-Elect Elizabeth Treadway, PWLF, Vice President, AMEC Environment & Infrastructure of Johnson City, Tennessee. Treadway will serve a one-year term as APWA President-Elect, followed by consecutive President and Past-President one year terms. Also on the Board is Past-President George Crombie, MPA, BCEEM, PWLF, who currently is Senior Faculty Member for the Public Works Administration in the MPA program at Norwich University in Northfield, Vermont.

New and re-elected members to the APWA Board of Directors include Rick Stinson, PWLF, Director of Public Works, Town of Wakefield, Mass., as the new Region I Director; Brian R. Usher, PWLF, Director of Public Works for the City of Largo, Fla., elected as the new Director-at-Large, Fleet and Facilities; Edward A. Gottko, P.E., PWLF, Town Administrator (retired), Town of Westfield, N.J., as Region II Director; and Linda Petelka, B.Sc., PWLF, Manager, Wastewater Program Planning Section, The Regional Municipality of Peel, Ontario, as the new Region V Director. Other re-elected Board members include Larry Stevens, P.E., Senior Project Manager, Howard R. Green Company, Johnston, Iowa, for Region VI Director; and Ronald J. Calkins, P.E., PWLF, Director of Public Works (retired), City of Ventura, Calif., for Region VIII Director.

Also new to the Board is William (Bo) Mills, PWLF, Director of Public Services with the City of Germantown, Tennessee, as Director of Region III. Mills was appointed to fill the unexpired term of Elizabeth Treadway, who assumed the position of President-Elect during the APWA International Congress & Exposition in Denver.

For more information, about APWA, visit For APWA media queries, please contact APWA Media Relations and Communications Manager, Laura Bynum, (202) 218-6736 or

About APWA
The American Public Works Association ( is a not-for-profit, international organization of more than 28,500 members involved in the field of public works. APWA serves its members by promoting professional excellence and public awareness through education, advocacy and the exchange of knowledge. APWA is headquartered in Kansas City, Missouri, has an office in Washington, D.C. and 63 chapters in North America.