The Institute of Navigation Announces Winner of the Kershner Award

Manassas Virginia, May 7, 2010 – The PLANS Executive Committee presented its Kershner Award to Dr. James Huddle at the IEEE/ION PLANS Symposium (PLANS) 2010 in Palm Springs, California, Thursday, May 6, 2010. Dr. Huddle was recognized for his work on inertial and multi-sensor navigation and referencing systems.

Over his distinguished career, Dr. Huddle has performed and directed system mechanization, analysis, evaluation, and optimization of various multi-sensor navigation, guidance, and surveying systems.  The sensors employed include inertial, Doppler radar and sonar, LORAN, Stellar-trackers, Laser and RF range and range-rate devices, EM-logs, TERCOM, NAVSAT, OMEGA, and GPS.  Applications include air, marine and land navigation and referencing systems, strategic and tactical missile guidance, and position and gravity surveying systems. 

Additionally, Dr. Huddle served on the Naval Studies Board Panel for Advanced Navigation Technology for the National Academy of Sciences from 1982 to 1984.  He received the Institute of Navigation’s (ION) Thomas L. Thurlow Award in 1988, the Institute’s highest award granted for “Outstanding Contributions to the Science of Navigation”. He is a Fellow of the ION, the IEEE and the International Association of Geodesy.  He has been awarded 11 patents has several pending.

The Kershner Award is granted in recognition for substantial contribution to the technology of navigation and positioning equipment, systems or practices over their lifetime and is given in memory of Dr. Richard B. Kershner who participated in the initial conception and led the development of Transit, the world’s first navigation satellite system.

About ION
The Institute of Navigation is the world’s premier professional society dedicated to the advancement of the art and science of positioning, navigation and timing. The Institute is a national organization whose membership spans worldwide. Additional information about the ION can be found at

Photo caption: IEEE/ION 2010 PLANS Committee Chair Wayne Soehren, Honeywell, presents the Kershner Award to Dr. James Huddle.