Institute of Navigation 2010 Fellow Membership Announced

The Institute of Navigation Announces 2010 Elected Fellow Members

Manassas, Virginia, February 4, 2010 – The Institute of Navigation (ION) announced the recipients of the 2010 fellow membership during the ION International Technical Meeting (ITM) 2010 in San Diego, California, January 25-27, 2010.

Election to fellow membership recognizes the distinguished contributions of The Institute of Navigation members to the advancement of the technology, management, practice and teaching the arts and science of navigation; and/or lifetime contributions to the Institute.

Dr. Raynor L. Duncombe has been elected for his involvement in developing the initial methods for tracking the first artificial satellites, and for his leadership in the production of almanacs and the development of the new celestial reference system in the 1970s, and for his contributions in the founding of the International Association of Institutes of Navigation.

John W. Lavrakas has been elected for his contributions to the development of GPS Control Segment and user applications, and for service to The Institute of Navigation.

Dr. Boris Pervan has been elected for his extraordinary contribution to the advancement of differential GPS technology and integrity assurance, for his excellence as a teacher, and for his service to The Institute of Navigation.

About ION
The Institute of Navigation is the world’s premier professional society dedicated to the advancement of the art and science of positioning, navigation and timing. The Institute is a national organization whose membership spans worldwide. Additional information about the ION can be found at