Surveyors’ New President Follows in Footsteps

April 25, 2006 – The Alberta Land Surveyors’ Association announced today that Dirk VandenBrink, ALS, of Red Deer has been elected President of the Association for the 2006 – 2007 year. Mr. VandenBrink has been an active member of the Association since he received his commission as an Alberta Land Surveyor in 1985.

Mr. VandenBrink has been president of Snell & Oslund Surveys (1979) Ltd. since 1989. Snell & Oslund is a mid-size land survey company based in Red Deer that practices in all areas of land development, including new subdivisions and real property reports.

Mr. VandenBrink, a member of the University of Calgary Survey Engineering’s first graduating class, follows in the footsteps of past Alberta Land Surveyors’ Association presidents Gil Oslund (1964) and Red Deer icon Charlie Snell (1929, 1934, 1943, 1948).

“The year ahead will be an exciting one for all Alberta Land Surveyors,” said Mr. VandenBrink following his election. “The Alberta economy remains strong and we have seen a number of new members receive their commissions as Alberta Land Surveyors and many more enter into the articling system. At the same time, we must work with our clients, partners and government to continue to help support the growth of this province.”

At its annual general meeting held April 20-22, 2006 in Jasper, the Alberta Land Surveyors’ Association recognized the following people for their contribution to the profession:

Bill Dabbs was appointed an honorary life member in the Alberta Land Surveyors’ Association. Mr. Dabbs started Dabbs Control Surveys and then joined All-West Surveys as employee and eventually became president and majority owner. Mr. Dabbs was with All-West for thirty years. During his survey career, he always prided himself, through the companies he owned, as using the latest and most modern equipment. He served as secretary-treasurer and then went on to be vice-president and president in 1996. He received the Professional Recognition Award in 2000.

Don Jaques was also appointed an honorary life member in the Alberta Land Surveyors’ Association. He was commissioned as Alberta Land Surveyor #335 in September 1969. Mr. Jaques was also a Saskatchewan Land Surveyors and a Canada Lands Surveyor.

Mr. Jaques served two terms on the ALSA Council (1978-1980 and 1985-1987) and was elected the Alberta Land Surveyors’ Association’s 89th president in 1999-2000.

Lyall Pratt of Edmonton was presented with the Professional Recognition Award in honour of his work as Director of Practice Review from 1997-2005. Mr. Pratt served as president of the Alberta Land Surveyors’ Association in 1994-1995 and is currently a member of the J.H. Holloway Scholarship Foundation. As Director of Practice Review, Mr. Pratt was responsible for reviewing the practice of every land surveyor in Alberta to ensure that they met the high standards required by the legislation and expected by the public.

About ALSA
The Alberta Land Surveyors’ Association, established in 1910, is a self-governing professional association legislated under the Land Surveyors Act. The Association regulates the practice of land surveying for the protection of the public and administration of the profession.

2006-2007 Council
Dirk H. VandenBrink, ALS, President
Robert M. Wallace, ALS, Vice-President
Stephen C. Green, ALS, Past-President
Larry M. Pals, ALS, Secretary-Treasurer
Bruce A. Beairsto, ALS, Councillor
Tony A. Brown, ALS, Councillor
Tim Harding, ALS, Councillor
Terry W. Hudema, ALS, Councillor
Victor G. Hut, ALS, Councillor
Murray H. Young, ALS, Councillor
Lawrence Kluthe Public Member

The 2007 annual general meeting of the Alberta Land Surveyors’ Association will be held April 19-21, 2007 in Lake Louise, Alberta.