Surface geology of south Queensland now available

A new digital dataset of southern Queensland has been released as part of a national compilation of the ‘Surface Geology of Australia, 1:1 000 000 scale’. This and other related digital data products are now available for free (registered user) download.

The dataset covers an area from Townsville south and west to adjacent Territory and State borders. It was compiled mainly from regional 1:1 000 000 and 1:500 000 maps, with gaps filled from 1:250 000 and 1:100 000 mapping. Recent mapping by the GSQ in south-east Queensland has been included.

Geological units and lines in the dataset are described with standardised attributes including stratigraphic, lithological, and age information. Major deposits/resources within the area of this dataset include: Mount Morgan (Cu-Au), Mt Leyshon & Gympie (Au), Southeast Queensland (mineral sands), Kunwarara (Mg), Cooper and Surat basins (oil and gas) and Bowen Basin (coal). The new data set will provide an improved regional context for these and other deposits. The dataset can be downloaded from the Free Downloads page, or ordered on CD in ESRI and Mapinfo formats from the GA Sales Centre.

Surficial Geology of Victoria also released

The Victorian dataset is among the first releases of what will become a national compilation of the ‘Surface Geology of Australia, 1:1 000 000 scale’. The dataset is being developed in GA to assist in addressing land use issues and to provide context for mineral exploration with consistency across state borders.

Related Weblinks: